Hotel Elafos is situated on the edges of Profitis Ilias Mountain, next to the byzantine monastery of Profitis Ilias, 45 kilometers from Rhodes town and 30 kilometers from the airport, at an altitude of 780 meters and almost in the centre of the island, in a green environment with rare vegetation, high pine trees, perennial plane trees and the unique cedar species of “Atlas Cedar”.
The Italians, famous for their aesthetics and the timeless architecture of their buildings, created this lodge in 1929, in order to accommodate Italian army officers. It was named Albergo del Cervo (Deer’s Hotel), after the beautiful, rare and strictly protected deer species of Dama Dama which inhabits in the majestic forest that surrounds the hotel.
The building follows a mixture of masonry and frame of reinforced concrete. The roofing consists of very steep wooden rooftops covered with special corrugated sheets, while the hotel’s exterior is thoroughly decorated with wooden details.
During World War II, it was used as lodge for the Italian officers and later as military German hospital. In 1932, a new independent wing, named Elafina (female deer), was built next to Hotel Elafos, making the complex known as “Elafos-Elafina”. Thence forward it runs as a hotel attracting visitors from all over the world, that wish to admire in close the buildings’ special identity.